This screencast was designed for use in a math class with fourth graders. I used a math rotations model so that every day students practiced the skill I focused on or practiced concepts they had yet to master. I did this with the help of one assistant to monitor the groups that I wasn’t able to instruct because I was running a group of my own. All groups had access to a screencast like the one above prior to working on similar problems right in front of me. The one exception I made was that my high achievers started with me because they often didn’t need much extra support in order to master the concept.

Here are the various multimedia principles that I could identify in my screencast:

Personalization Principle: My voice is very conversational and is presented as if I am talking with each student along the way. I used words such as “Let’s try another one.” “How are you doing?” and “You see how we end up getting the same answer?” to foster student engagement with the screencast.

Coherence Principle: No additional material was added that didn’t support the instruction.

Redundancy Principle: Since this was a math lesson there was little use for graphics other than numbers and boxing some answers. The math practice was supported with real time audio.

Modality Principle: Audio supports the written math practice throughout the video. Students were able to make use of dual channels in order to better understand the concepts.

Contiguity Principle: There was no need for decorative graphics in this screencast. It is very basic and sticks to the two concepts that were intended to be taught- Mental math through partial products and Standard Algorithm. This helped support students with limited capacity and there were plenty of opportunities to actively process the material with embedded wait time and the ability to check work for accuracy along the way.

Small group work is hard to pull off well. I loved the fact that I could check YouTube each evening to see how many hits each video received. Then I could suggest to the assistant in the room to monitor that station more closely if the hits did not match the number of students who should have been accessing the video. As well, my classroom parent community heard about the videos and wanted access to them for at home support so I simply sent them home at the end of each day as I was able. Win-Win!

Screencast Tool: Doceri

 

