sketchnote2

I created this sketchnote based on questions related to Chapter 4 in e-Learning and the Science of Instruction by Clark and Mayers, 2016.

Prompt: Why does the multimedia principle work best for novices? Should you change static illustrations into animations? What do we still not know about visuals?

Tool: Paper by FiftyThree

I have been using this app for about two years now. I love it for doodling and since I try to do something creative for at least ten minutes a day, it is a great tool to meet this goal. I used an apple pencil for this sketchnote, but I am also fine using my inexpensive targus.

My challenges with sketchnoting have to do with focusing too much on the design rather than the content. Sketchnoting is meant to be fairly quick and I get caught up in the overall look of the design and it is difficult to stop tinkering with it. I do find that sketchnoting helps me summarize the most important information and once I make one the information is committed to memory compared to simply reading a chapter and reflecting on it. I have not tried sketchnoting during a lecture. This would likely force me to sketchnote properly because there isn’t time to play around with the design.

This assignment meets the AECT Standard 3: Learning Environments

Creating instructional design products based on learning principles and research-based best practices.

I created this sketchnote based on the course textbook by Clark & Mayer, titled e-learning and the Science of Instruction. The sketchnote represents an original design that summarizes part of chapter 4 and addresses the questions listed at the beginning of this post. Research states that images connected to nearby text supports learners. Recall is stronger when images are present and the creation of the sketchnote itself requires a high depth of knowledge called Strategic Thinking.

 

